Coworker started showing me pictures of him in selfmade skirts

General discussion of skirt and kilt-based fashion for men, and stuff that goes with skirts and kilts.
zjo

Coworker started showing me pictures of him in selfmade skirts

Post by zjo »

I work as a manager at a fairly large IT company. I handle big clients so at work I dress quite formally and also act like it. I rarely go the office anymore but the last visit is one to remember. I had an off-topic hallway conversation with one of our newer team leads who I don’t know that well. He is a big, tattooed, pierced and overall scary looking guy in his 30’s who used to work as bouncer and a security guard. I somehow ended up talking about my leatherworking hobby with him and the guy said that he has also done it because by education he is a clothes designer. He smirked and said that I probably didn’t see that one coming and we laughed at it. I showed him pictures of my work, mostly women’s handbags, and he wanted to show he’s work too. The first thing he showed me was an ankle length leather skirt he made for himself for cosplay. We started talking about the fastening mechanism and he said it’s a wrap skirt somehow assuming that I knew what it meant. I then compared it to a kilt’s fastening mechanism and feel giving away that I know how they are made and what they feel like to wear and asked if he had worn one. He said that obviously yes because he has made them too and started showing me pictures of kilts he made for himself. I complimented him on them and then he progressed to showing pleated skirts. All made for himself, proudly worn and definitely not cosplay costumes anymore. And suddenly there we were - a potential heavy metal band member and a seemingly uptight yuppie on the company hallway talking about how good the skirts looked on him. I have to admit it felt quite absurd but at the same time very heartwarming.