Sebs sweatshop

For those do-it-yourselfers...
Seb

Sebs sweatshop

Post by Seb »

I thought I would make a thread for the bits and bops I try to tinker up.

Last year I salvaged an old bedsheet and made a dress, mostly for practice. Now the bodice is super plain and the sleeves a bit tight and out of style and a pretty big square neckline. The skirt is a four panel rectangle with pockets in the seams between front and side. and my wife hates it... But I came to love it, I mostly wear it with a jumper over and when missus is out of the house.
IMG_20231017_143915-01.jpeg
I had a ruffle around the neckline from the start but changed it for a facing, looks cleaner.

But I still had an itch to make more clothes, so I started drawing, youtubeing and my wife got me a few books. I ordered in some cheap fabric to practice some more on(so much easier on new fabric!).

I made a tunic, well it comes down to mid thigh, so I guess it could go as a dress too, not happy with the neckline but it was good practice with inserting elastic in the sleeves and bias binding the neck. Ill have to take a good picture of it sometime(I only have a close up of the neckline in my phone).

This week I started my third (big) project, a rectangle skirt with two panels and big pockets. This one will be pleated, 6cm pleats. Not sure how to do the waist band so it stays up, but I figured Ill find out when I get that far(otherwise I guess it will be another dress) planning on having belt loops though to hang stuff off.
IMG_20240110_103755-01.jpeg
Its just shy of 3m at the hem, 1/3 in the front panel and 2/3 in the back to bring the pockets into a good position, its not a lot to show yet but its cut out and sewn together and I'm working on the pleats now.
IMG_20240110_151156-01.jpeg
Here is the pockets, 40cm deep, 18cm wide, should be sufficent. :)