The road to not caring

General discussion of skirt and kilt-based fashion for men, and stuff that goes with skirts and kilts.
Methylcyclohexane

The road to not caring

Post by Methylcyclohexane »

Hello everyone, newbie here. You can read my introduction over on the Introductions forum to learn a little bit about me.

As of the time I am writing this, it's the night before Thanksgiving and I feel like I'm coming down with a cold or something, which is very unfortunate timing. Fortunately, it doesn't seem like it's going to be *too* bad. I think I'll be able to tough it out, but I'll probably stay home over the weekend instead of visiting family. Instead of feeling sorry for myself though, I'm going to keep myself entertained, and perhaps entertain you all with a simple story from the other night.

I live alone now and own several skirts as well as a dress, plus a few pairs of tights. I did wear one of my skirts in public once this year, in summer. I went to a vintage clothing shop in a town about 45 minutes away. It was advertised as being very inclusive and friendly and was far enough away from where I live that I thought it was unlikely I'd see anyone that I know. I showed up about a half hour before closing time I believe and was greeted by the store owner, who did a double take at my outfit but smiled and complimented it! She was the only person I ended up seeing the whole time I was there. It was honestly a pretty nice experience.

After that, though, I had never worn any of my skirts out in public again. I live in a small town and I randomly see people I know while out and about with quite a high level of frequency, which made me feel very nervous about being recognized and prevented me from skirting in public again.