Big tech

Non-fashion, non-skirt, non-gender discussions. If your post is related to fashion, skirts or gender, please choose one of the forums above for it.
Barleymower
Member Extraordinaire

Big tech

Post by Barleymower »

I'm not a prolific user of social media. Everytime I get anywhere near it, it worries me. Tell all about yourself, share your details, allow us to monitor your traffic and share it with our partners.

I appreciate that even using this phone/device I'm allowing big tech to know everything about me but I don't really know to what extent. Does anyone know how much data or ours they have?

With my last phone a Google pixel 3. I meticulously switch everything off which shared my info and guess what? Yes the phone almost stopped working.

I have thought about subscribing to a VPN like Nord VPN. Are they worth it?

Mostly I would like to rid my phone of the constant cookie requests. I use a few browsers like duck duck go, quant and keepsafe. None of them fully stop the constant cookie requests. Any advice?

I know some of the guys on the forum are very proficient techies (Coder and Carl come to mind). Thanks in advance.
Coder
Member Extraordinaire

Re: Big tech

Post by Coder »

Can you describe what you mean by cookie requests? Are these the "accept/reject" cookie warnings? Or is this moreso just the fact that sites use cookies to track you?
crfriend
Master Barista

Post by crfriend »

Barleymower wrote: Thu Apr 20, 2023 10:10 pmMostly I would like to rid my phone of the constant cookie requests. I use a few browsers like duck duck go, quant and keepsafe. None of them fully stop the constant cookie requests. Any advice?
With any luck your 'phone will have an "incognito" mode that won't save cookies persistently; that's what I use any time I connect to something I don't trust very highly, and all the cookies that may get shoved at me disappear when I close the window.