Hi, glad to meet you

If you're new to the Cafe, please grab a seat by the potted palm, settle down with a nice big latte, and tell us a little bit about yourself. Please also look here for forum principles and rules.
Myopic Bookworm
Member Extraordinaire

Hi, glad to meet you

Post by Myopic Bookworm »

I think I may have been a member once, but it's so long ago I have forgotten any user details I once had!

I always liked the idea of a kilt, and bought myself one from a travelling Scottish trader when I was a postgraduate student. (I was talked into taking up Scottish dancing as a result: I've no regrets about that, it helped me to catch a girlfriend!)
After a few years I plucked up the courage to buy a plain tweed kilt in Edinburgh and started wearing that too (girlfriend having become wife).
I now have lots of kilts: six tartans of varying weight, tweed, plain, corduroy, denim, and an Amerikilt that I picked up at a Celtic festival in the US.

It still bugged me that, as a man, I was allowed to wear a skirt just so long as it was knee-length and pleated (and preferably tartan). So this year I started cruising the charity shops, and have been wearing a comfortable mid-calf length skirt at home. Today was my first public outing. If anyone noticed they didn't say anything. (I went to a quiet park, not to a busy shopping centre!)

I guess the next step is to test the wife's reactions...wish me luck!
Kirbstone
Member Extraordinaire

Re: Hi, glad to meet you

Post by Kirbstone »

Welcome and I wish you joy, MB. I too am nuts about kilts and have several. SW England is big place. Lived there for nigh-on a quarter of a Century and have a raft of family scattered about there. Good that you have your OH on board, but as you say, she mightn't take to something other than a kilt.

The main thing is, Have fun. That's why we are here.

Tom
Carpe Diem......Seize the Day !
Bikerkilt
Member Extraordinaire

Post by Bikerkilt »

Welcome to the calf.
New-in-Skirts