First made dress

For those do-it-yourselfers...
rode_kater
Member Extraordinaire

First made dress

Post by rode_kater »

So recently I got into my head that I'd like to try make a dress that is more suited to my measurements. I have a couple of nice dresses, but the opening for the head is larger than I'd like (you see more of the chest and associated hair than I'd like). Also because I'm taller than a women with my chest width would be I find the waist is higher than I'd like.

So this is my first attempt: Image

Basically started with two dresses, copied the top from one and the bottom from the other and then copied the shoulder from a t-shirt. I then spent a whopping €3 on some linen from the second hand store and voila!

I'm pretty happy with the result, the waist is about where I'd like. I learnt a lot about hems in the meantime and my SO graciously explained some of the secrets of sewing.

According to a recent thread apparently you shouldn't doing bare legs and bare arms at the same time, but I think this can work.
denimini
Member Extraordinaire

Re: First made dress

Post by denimini »

Looks very good, more like a skirt and top after beachlion's "stealth" skirt style. Linen is a great material although I have never sewn with it.
rode_kater wrote: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:29 pm According to a recent thread apparently you shouldn't doing bare legs and bare arms at the same time, ......
Hmmm, I don't know what thread that was but there would be many here to disagree.
Anthony, a denim miniskirt wearer in Outback Australia
Jim
Member Extraordinaire

Post by Jim »

rode_kater wrote: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:29 pm According to a recent thread apparently you shouldn't doing bare legs and bare arms at the same time, but I think this can work.
That may be a fashion idea, but not for people who work or are otherwise active outside in hot weather.

I think it works fine.
r.m.anderson
Member Extraordinaire

Post by r.m.anderson »