Serging

For those do-it-yourselfers...
crfriend
Master Barista

Serging

Post by crfriend »

I'm working on a project and I need to know if there's an easy way to undo a serged edge. The specific problem involves an elastic which is serged to fabric and then folded over and sewn down. Since the elastic is shot I'm looking to replace it with new but need to get the old completely removed.

Ideas? Or, in this case, is it down to scissors and removing the entire edge?
Retrocomputing -- It's not just a job, it's an adventure!
Sinned
Member Extraordinaire

Re: Serging

Post by Sinned »

The best that I could do is this: http://www.theartfulcrafter.com/serged-stitch.html. If there's plenty of material then using sharp dressmaking scissors cut the material off just above the serge. We've never had to do it so I have no real experience.
I believe in offering every assistance short of actual help but then mainly just want to be left to be myself in all my difference and uniqueness.
Zorba
Distinguished Member

Post by Zorba »

Your seam ripper is your friend...
-Zorba
"The Veiled Male"
http://www.doubleveil.net
crfriend
Master Barista

Post by crfriend »

Zorba wrote:Your seam ripper is your friend...
I've done most of the work with the seam-ripper already, but the problem is the serged edge itself not the other bits. Of course it doesn't much help that it's white elastic, white fabric, and white thread. At this point in time I'm leaning towards cutting the edge off and using narrower elastic to compensate as there's not much wiggle-room in the design.

If nothing else, this has been -- and continues to be -- a "learning experience". The ultimate option may be to deconstruct the original completely, make a pattern, and rebuild from scratch using new fabric.
Tor
Member Extraordinaire

Post by Tor »