Can a skirt ever look masculine

Discussion of fashion elements and looks that are traditionally considered somewhat "femme" but are presented in a masculine context. This is NOT about transvestism or crossdressing.
algie

Can a skirt ever look masculine

Post by algie »

Hello all I’m algie, a long time lurker, first time poster
This is my first try at a somewhat masculine skirt outfit
An androgynous sweater, plain denim skirt with tights and legwarmers and flat riding style boots
Please excuse the headless look for now

Thanks

Algie
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
john62
Member Extraordinaire

Re: Can a skirt ever look masculine

Post by john62 »

Looks good, personally I would have the sweater longer.

John
oldsalt1
Member Extraordinaire

Post by oldsalt1 »

The outfit looks fine . Very well put together If this is your first outfit you did a great job . I would agree with John the skirt looks more masculine than the sweater

Welcome to the cafe
weeladdie18
Member Extraordinaire

Post by weeladdie18 »

Well done Algie nice outfit , could be me......Technically speaking , ...if the outfit was viewed
from the natural eye level view point with a standard lens....the perspective of the subject
would be slightly different.....
If we imagine we were putting outline shapes on a male maniquin, I would start by adding a
traditional male jacket or body warmer. ..Sixties tank top male sweaters were very high waisted
and tight fitting......perhaps a male style leather bomber jacket....or sleeveless waistcoat.
If you wish to look male ....perhaps a Kilt jacket and waistcoat or a male cut sweater for say
a 30 inch waist and 38 inch male chest would give a different perspective to the male shape
of the sweater. I love wearing a long cardigan, nearly down to my knees over a male civilian issue
navy blue sweater......typically British Police issue.