Greetings everyone

If you're new to the Cafe, please grab a seat by the potted palm, settle down with a nice big latte, and tell us a little bit about yourself. Please also look here for forum principles and rules.
Pity

Greetings everyone

Post by Pity »

Hi all,

I’m another that's been lurking for long enough that it felt rude not to make an account and introduce myself, so here I am.

I’ve been wearing skirts for twenty years (mid-forties now, where does the time go?), but my general feeling of not-giving-a-**** has increased as I’ve aged, seemingly hitting a tipping point about five years ago that meant I really pushed myself to properly embrace wearing whatever I want in public, other people be damned. This has been hugely helped by my working at a London university, where my gradual transition from wearing sarongs in the Summer because of the outrageous heat in the office (I’m not really a polo shirt and shorts kind of guy…), to my everyday work outfit now comprising of maxi and midi skirts with high-heeled ankle boots, feminine tops and jewellery hasn’t really been remarked upon by anyone at all. I’ve attended meetings with senior management, met with outside contractors, and dealt face-to-face with students and their parents but other than the time I asked my new manager if she minded how I was dressed and she replied “I don’t see anything unprofessional about your outfit” it doesn’t provoke anything more than the occasional compliment from coworkers.

This fairly recent sense of confidence has led to me viewing the annual work Christmas party as an opportunity :-D which peaked at the last one pre-Covid to which I wore an asymmetric split skirt with my stiletto heeled platform ankle boots. Again, all this induced was various compliments and a long discussion with the Registrar around the practicalities of learning to walk in heels :lol: