Hello and skirt question

General discussion of skirt and kilt-based fashion for men, and stuff that goes with skirts and kilts.
CoffeeMUG

Hello and skirt question

Post by CoffeeMUG »

Hello all,

I've been lurking around here for a while and thought I'd join up as I've enjoyed reading this board.

I am new to the skirt/kilt thing, but have tried one of my wife's skirts and would like to get something for myself, either some kind of denim/khaki-like skirt or a non-traditional kilt such as Utilikilt. I would most likely wear them around the house for now so a skirt isn't a problem for me (and a skirt seems like a cheap way to try the MUG thing).

I've been looking around and the main concern I've come up with is the fit. I normally wear a 37-38" waist and have basically no hips to speak of (and a pretty small rear end!), but a bit of a beer belly. So it seems like some of the stuff I've looked at is too tight if it's got a regular waistband or way too loose if an elastic band. Perhaps I just need to try different ones until I get the right one. Any tips for a newbie? Thanks!
crfriend
Master Barista

Post by crfriend »

Hello CoffeeMUG, and welcome.

I suspect you're just going to have to experiment for a while until you happen to find what size you are -- there's no direct conversion as far as I can tell. The general wisdom seems to be aim for the size that is closest to your hip size as guys will tend to wear the skirts a bit lower than the ladies.

Personally, I've got just about a 38" waist (and about 42 around the widest part of my backside) and it looks like a misses' large (size 14-16) works pretty well. Generally, skirts with elasticised waistbands can be difficult to initially get used to because blokes typically wear belts to hold their tr*users up; if the skirt doesn't fall off, or slide down appreciably, that's all the tension you need.