Have you still got your first skirt?

General discussion of skirt and kilt-based fashion for men, and stuff that goes with skirts and kilts.
Fear i Sciorta Dubh

Have you still got your first skirt?

Post by Fear i Sciorta Dubh »

There has been a lot of serious discussion around toxic masculinity and associated subjects on The Skirt Café recently so I thought I would lighten the mood somewhat. I hope people don’t mind!

I’ve been wearing skirts for about 15 years now (around the house only) and the first skirt I obtained, given to me by my wife, was about 5 years old at the time meaning this skirt is at least 20 years old. I have long since ceased to wear it but I cannot bring myself to discard it given it was my first skirt. So it is tucked away at the back of a wardrobe somewhere.

The oldest skirts I am still currently wearing are about 12 years old (so I certainly can’t be accused of encouraging fast fashion) though my most recent purchase - a midi length straight black slinky - was just last week.

Anyone else a bit sentimental about their first skirt or am I the only hoarder out there? Though from the look of SkirtsDad’s wardrobe in a photo on another thread on the board, I suspect not!
crfriend
Master Barista

Re: Have you still got your first skirt?

Post by crfriend »

Fear i Sciorta Dubh wrote: Fri Jan 20, 2023 5:09 pmAnyone else a bit sentimental about their first skirt or am I the only hoarder out there?
I still have the first one I wore, and it's one I made myself! Constructed from an old curtain in 2002, it still fits and still gets very occasional mileage during the summer months. It's a white mini-length of what was a sheer curtain folded over thrice to give it some opacity. It still fits, although a number of years I did manage to get a bit of hot-pink paint on it when my late ex- and I painted the rear porch/steps to the house (we wanted a Victorian feel for it, so it wound up in purple, hot pink, and electric blue).