I wore an outright skirt to work today

General discussion of skirt and kilt-based fashion for men, and stuff that goes with skirts and kilts.
Chris Webb

I wore an outright skirt to work today

Post by Chris Webb »

I've been skirting and kilting full time for nearly 10 years, but I'd never worn anything but an outright kilt to work until today. Now my kilts are definitely short (14 inches), but they are clearly kilts. Today the wind was blowing 20 mph with gusts up to 30 mph and, you know what, I'd just had it with dealing with my kilts blowing up on the job ... so I wore a SKIRT!! A 15 inch a-line with two small pleats in the front and two small pleats in the back, solid dark grey, made by Aeropostale. NOBODY seemed to even notice, not my helpers, not my builder, not any of the other sub-contractors.

I am forced to admit that I had limited my skirt wearing at work to kilts only because down deep inside I was leaning on the Heritage Excuse that comes with wearing tartan kilts of any kind. But today I was a true skirtman AT WORK where it could affect my livelihood ... I'm a little embarrassed that I hadn't done it before but proud that I finally did!

Skirt ON!
skirtingtoday
Member Extraordinaire

Re: I wore an outright skirt to work today

Post by skirtingtoday »

Great news for you! I suspect that most of your work mates, contractors etc who had seen you in the kilt would not blink an eye because you decided to wear an equivalent length skirt.

In the UK kilts are normally around knee-length (23-24" long) and anything shorter than (say) 20" would be classed as a mini-kilt here and these would normally be reserved for women and more especially for the younger ones. So kudos for you to wear the shorter kilts with confidence - wish I could do the same but I'm my good lady would bend my ear somewhat!

:thumright: :thumright: :thumright: :-D :-D :cheers: :cheers: