Hello from the Rose City

If you're new to the Cafe, please grab a seat by the potted palm, settle down with a nice big latte, and tell us a little bit about yourself. Please also look here for forum principles and rules.
Pdxfashionpioneer
Member Extraordinaire

Hello from the Rose City

Post by Pdxfashionpioneer »

I know I got out of sequence here -- reading and posting and THEN Introducing myself -- but there's nothing new about that. I've always done things my own way often with spectacular results, Unfortunately not always spectacularly successful.
Professionally I am an accountant and have worked as a management consultant. I grew up in the New York City area, got my college degree in the Midwest and have lived on the West Coast since my early 20's. Nearly all of that time in Portland OR. I enjoy bicycling for exercise and studying history for mental exercise. I have also become active in my church. Like most people I enjoy movies and music. I also have a darling 2 year-old granddaughter whom I adore.
I turned 65 in August 2015. By that time I had been separated from my wife Susan for about a year and a half and decided to make skirts and dresses a part of my regular wardrobe. After going through the usual paranoid experiments of late-night forays and finding I not only didn't get any second looks, I didn't get many first looks.
I attribute that to:
1. People are too busy with their lives to worry about mine.
2. It is the 21st century.
3. I live in Portland OR. Like the rest of the state, it very much has a live and let live ethos and, unlike the rural portions of the state, is politically liberal and consequently people tend to be pretty tolerant of differences.