first timer

If you're new to the Cafe, please grab a seat by the potted palm, settle down with a nice big latte, and tell us a little bit about yourself. Please also look here for forum principles and rules.
mark47

first timer

Post by mark47 »

I'm new to this. I remember wearing one of my mother's dresses when I was a teen-ager...a looong time ago. I'm now 67 and am straight as an arrow. I'm looking at skirts in the desire toward comfort. I am going to do this. I've been doing research...like; what style of skirt, color, etc. I live in Tucson Az, and am in cargo shorts most of the time, so think a cargo skirt would be the easiest transition. I have found a few on line that I really like. As soon as I figure out sizing...maybe find a liberal minded sales girl in a department store, or order on line and hope for the best.
RichardA
Member Extraordinaire

Re: first timer

Post by RichardA »

Hi Mark and :welcome:
crfriend
Master Barista

Post by crfriend »

Greetings, Mark, and welcome to the community!

On sizing: When it comes to styles commonly found only "on the other side of the aisle" you'll find that it's a bit of a black art, and that's compounded by the increasing popularity of "vanity sizing" which misrepresents the numbers. From personal experience, I've found that going by the stated hip size is likely to be more accurate for me that waist size so long as the thing will fasten around my waist and won't fall off. A quick strategy that's been known to work is to take a piece of string, wrap it completely around the part of your body where you want the waistband of the skirt to ride, halve the length of it, and then carry that in your pocket to use as a measuring device held up to the waistbands of skirts on the rack -- a close match of skirt to string will yield a close match in fit.

Too, an avenue you might want to take at first would be to choose elastic-waist skirts, or tie-waist skirts early on as those are very forgiving about sizing issues.