Minnesota Newbie

If you're new to the Cafe, please grab a seat by the potted palm, settle down with a nice big latte, and tell us a little bit about yourself. Please also look here for forum principles and rules.
finrod
Distinguished Member

Minnesota Newbie

Post by finrod »

Hi all,

I'm a software developer in my thirties, from Minneapolis, Minnesota (US). I first got into the idea of men wearing skirts when a coed recreational ultimate disc team I was on randomly decided to have a "everyone wears skirts or dresses" game (we had a different theme each week). It occurred to me then that there really wasn't a good reason for guys to eschew skirts. I like to deliberately go against the grain on arbitrary conventions like this, so I decided to explore the idea more.

Last year I wore a Macabi skirt to my wedding, but other than that I've only worn skirts in public a couple of times. I've also recently gotten into sewing, and have been trying my hand at creating my own skirt. Easier said than done though! If and when I have something worth showing, I'll post some photos. I noticed the Sewing forum and plan to take a wander down there sometime soon.

I've read the forums here from time to time, but haven't been an active participant until now. Looking forward to getting to know people here!

finrod (yeah, it's a Tolkien reference :) )
Uncle Al

Re: Minnesota Newbie

Post by Uncle Al »

Hi finrod and :welcome:

Uncle Al
:mrgreen: :ugeek: :mrgreen:
Kilted Organist/Musician
Grand Musician of the Grand Lodge, I.O.O.F. of Texas 2008-2009, 2015-2016,
2018-202 ? (and the beat goes on ;) )
When asked 'Why the Kilt?'
I respond-The why is F.T.H.O.I. (For The H--- Of It)
skirtyscot
Member Extraordinaire

Post by skirtyscot »

Hello and welcome, Finrod.

Your Tolkein reference is lost on me, but welcome anyway.

Your own wedding is a pretty radical place to choose to start wearing skirts in public, so well done for that!

Keep on skirting,

Alastair
Keep on skirting,

Alastair